Lieser’s landmark is the mighty castle, Schloss Lieser, built in 1875 by Baron von Schorlemer. The Schloss Lieser estate was founded in 1904 and went on to produce some of the greatest wines in the Mosel region. The von Schorlemers started to lose interest and in the 1970s with several different owners the estate went into decline. In 1992, Thomas Haag was appointed General Manager and Cellar Master by yet another owner. There was no inventory and there were no customers. Thomas immediately served notice by producing superb wines in 1992 and 1993. In 1997 the Haags purchased the estate out of bankruptcy and Thomas took command as the new owner. With the experience of working with his father, the great Wilhelm Haag, and his studies at Geisenheim it didn’t take long for Thomas to bring the estate back to its former glory. It is today again one of the great estates in the Mosel region. Thomas is a believer in “wild” yeast fermentation; he produces superb fruity style and noble sweet wines but also some of the greatest dry Rieslings in the region. The estate has ownership in the following great vineyards:
Lieser Niederberg Helden: decomposed, softer slate, deeper soiled (good water maintenance)
Brauneberger Juffer: decomposed devon slate.
Brauneberger Juffer Sonnenuhr: decomposed devon slate; it is the “filet” piece of the Juffer and benefits from its closeness to the Mosel River.
The Schloss Lieser Estate produces 8,000 cases and is a member of the VDP.